

TITLE	APPROVAL DATE
Termination	5/5/1988
SECTION	REVISION DATE
Employment	12/20/2016

Misconduct described in these Personnel Policies which may lead to discipline or termination is by no means an exclusive list. Notwithstanding any statement in these Personnel Policies describing specific misconduct which may lead to discipline or termination, the County reserves the right to terminate the employment employee of any time, with or without cause or reason. In order to dismiss an employee, Laramie County is not required to give the employee any prior disciplinary warning, verbal or written or to otherwise provide any advance notice of dismissal.

Separation from Employment

Resignation-An employee intending to voluntarily separate from county employment may, or upon request, submit written notification to the immediate supervisor and the Human Resource Office specifying the effective date of the intended resignation. Notification should be provided as far in advance as possible.

Retirement-Employees separating from county employment by retirement shall follow procedures established by the Wyoming Retirement System.

Finance will provide separation notification to Wyoming Retirement System as required.

Retirement.

Retire," "retired" or "retirement" means the termination of an employee's working career as a county employee for a salary and the fulfillment of the requirements for eligibility to receive either a retirement or disability benefit under the County's retirement program. Retirement benefit means a sum of money paid monthly to an employee who has retired, in accordance with W.S. 9-3-401 et.seq.

An employee who meets any of the qualifications for retirement and chooses to retire from employment with the County must indicate at the time of separation of employment his/her desire to be retired from service. An employee who separates from service without indicating his/her desire to be retired, may not subsequently then elect to be considered as retired for purposes of continuing coverage under the County health insurance plan.

Compensation upon Separation

Pursuant to Wyoming Statute 27-4-104, an employee will be issued a final paycheck no later than the employer's usual practice on the next regularly scheduled payroll date.

Vacation Leave- A separated regular status employee shall receive payment for the current balance of unused vacation leave, computed on the employee's hourly compensation rate at the time of separation.



TITLE	APPROVAL DATE
Termination	5/5/1988
SECTION	REVISION DATE
Employment	12/20/2016

Sick Leave- A separated regular status employee, vested with four continuous years of employment with Laramie County, shall receive payment for unused sick leave at the rate of one-half (1/2) of the total accrued hours not to exceed 240 hours total payout for 100% FTE, 180 total hours payout for 75% FTE or 120 hours total payout for 50% FTE, computed using the employee's hourly compensation rate at the time of separation. If separation occurs before four continuous years of employment, the employee is not eligible to receive payment for any accrued sick leave hours.

Compensatory Time- A separated employee shall receive payment for the current balance of unused compensatory time, computed using the employee's hourly compensation rate at the time of separation.

Termination Date

In most cases the last day of work is the termination date. In cases where an individual does not return to work at the end of a medical, military or personal leave, the date of termination is the date of the end of the leave, not the last day of work. Termination date may not be advanced because of earned and unused vacation.