TITLE	APPROVAL DATE
Workers Compensation	8/15/1995
SECTION	REVISION DATE
Time Off/Leaves of Absences	12/20/2016

If an employee is injured on the job, his/her supervisor, director or manager should be informed and a Workers Compensation Report and injury report submitted to the County Risk Manager. Refer to the County Safety Manual.

In the event of absence resulting from an injury compensable with wage replacement under the Workers' Compensation Act, the employee may receive sick leave benefits, 2 hours sick leave per day of workers compensation, at the discretion of Laramie County, to supplement payments made under the Workers' Compensation Act, with charges made against sick leave accruals until accrued sick leave is exhausted. If an employee elects this option, any holiday pay will be limited to 2 hours while on Worker's Compensation. If an employee does not elect this option, holiday pay will fall under the guidance of the Holiday policy.

Wyoming Workers Compensation does not deduct for taxes, and does not pay retirement into the Wyoming Retirement System, on wage replacement payments to injured workers. The time away from work, while receiving workers compensation payments, is not counted toward Wyoming Retirement System experience. Employees may choose to reject Workers Compensation replacement wages and use applicable paid leave for the absence, thus avoiding any break in retirement participation. Employees may not use paid leave and workers compensation replacement wages for the same absence.